Fine Arts: Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Art

Introduction to Fine Arts

This is a one credit course that is designed to give the high school student an experience in several fine arts areas. By exploring at least three of the four areas of Fine Arts, the student will develop problem-solving and critical-thinking skills, enhance their creativity and perceptual skills, and develop an appreciation for the arts which in turn will reinforce their academic skills.

The dance component will give the students an introduction to the study and performance of dance. It will include exploration in creative movement, improvisation, and various dance techniques.

Image result for education in fine arts

The music component will strive to develop in the students an appreciation for vocal and instrumental music. Self-expression through creation and performance of music will be an integral part as well as an understanding of the art of music.

The theatre component will have the students study, write, research, critique, create, design, perform, and participate in a variety of theatre-based learning experiences. Appropriate theatre technology and media will also be studied.

The visual art component will have the students apply various media, techniques, and processes in the areas of art production and will develop their skills to analyze artworks. They will discover how concepts, enduring themes, and societal issues relate to the visual arts.

Fine arts academic standards include separate sets of standards for each of the four arts: dance, music, theater, and visual art. Each set of standards is based on the national standards for that art area. Each has grade level standards for K-5, subject area course standards for grades 6-8, and course-level standards for grades 9-12. Working from the national standards, teams of educators in each area developed the state standards including Grade or Course Level Expectations (GLEs or CLEs) and Checks for Understanding.

Each of the courses addresses all of the standards for the specific art discipline. Greater emphasis may be placed on some standards and less on others depending on the specific nature of the course. These standards provide a common point of reference for district and local educators and provide direction in meeting the challenge of ensuring that all students attain the appropriate knowledge and skills as set forth in the standards.


The State Board of Education (SBE) has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K-12. Under each course title, select the grade level to view a description of the course and the standards adopted by the state board.

The state board sets the requirements for high school graduation. Per SBE Rule, students must achieve one high school level unit of Fine Arts in order to graduate with a high school diploma. The credit requirement for foreign language may be waived by the local school district for students, under certain circumstances, to expand and enhance the elective focus.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.